Help with Cuda question

Author Topic: Help with Cuda question  (Read 2904 times)

Offline A383Cuda

• Sal's Muscle Cars
Help with Cuda question
« on: October 23, 2005 - 07:39:03 PM »
I am new to the world of Mopar. I have admired them from afar since young. I have the opportunity to now buy a 1971 Baracuda (Cuda). It is Lemon twist Yellow and has a date correct 383 although not the original 383 in it. Yes it was originally a 383 car. It has the black billboards, a black interior, the go wing, sport hood (shaker?), and an automatic. The car has been fully restored and is absolutely beautiful, but I don't know what it's worth. It has the broadcast sheet and it shows to be a 383 Baracuda Grand Coupe. Is the Cuda portion a trim level or derivitive of the Baracuda model? Is it a true Cuda? What is the difference between a Cuda and a Baracuda? What would this car be worth with a quality restoration and the NOM motor? Are these 383 Cudas rare. I normally see 318's and 340's. Thanks, I appreciate you guys helping out the newbie. Sal

Offline cooda

Re: Help with Cuda question
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2005 - 08:41:34 PM »
I think that if you decide to do an original  restoration of the car, rather than make it a custom or resto-rod, I think you should put it back as a Gran Coupe, which was kind of a "luxury" Barracuda, with a nice interior, and take off the billboards.  The Cuda is a different model (kind of a sport/performance model) with engines available from 340 all the way up.  The largest engine you could get in the Gran Coupe was the 383. Of the 16,159 Plymouth Barracuda cars made in 71, only 1,298 of them were Gran Coupes. Don't know how many Gran Coupes were 383's, but I'll bet it is rare.  (I am not that knowledgable, but know where to look it up). The Barracuda is the base model which could get up to a 383, like the Gran Coupe.