Author Topic: Guess my timing  (Read 1135 times)

Offline zerfetzen

• 'Cuda, should'a, would'a...you lost.
Guess my timing
« on: April 01, 2006 - 11:09:54 PM »
Everything should be in my signature line.  If this were yours, what would your timing numbers be both at idle and advance?  Newbie here trying to get it right.  Thanks.

Offline MEK-Dangerfield

• C-C.com Expert
  • I don't get NO respect! Member since 1/25/2002
Re: Guess my timing
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2006 - 05:16:08 AM »
With a bigger cam, your timing will be advanced a bit at idle over normal. 10 degrees before top dead center would be a good place to start. Just listen to your engine as you move the distributor. See if you can find a happy spot. For total advance, you should be around 38 degrees. You really are just trying to have the timing advanced as far as you can, without getting detonation(pinging).

Mike

Mike

1970 Challenger - SOLD
2016 SXT+.  1 of 524 SXT+'s in Plumb-crazy for 2016.

Offline Chryco Psycho

• Administrator
  • C-C.com Guru
  • 70 Challenger R/T SE 70 tube Chassis Cuda now sold
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006 - 11:06:35 PM »
I agree , somewhere in t the 12-14* at idle & 38 total

Challenger - You`ll wish You Hadn`t

Offline zerfetzen

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006 - 08:31:02 AM »
Thanks guys,