Author Topic: my jobs  (Read 677 times)

Offline Pottstown Cuda

my jobs
« on: June 30, 2007 - 04:31:44 PM »
Started of handle pulling in a machine shop while I went to tech school. I worked machining for a few years after I graduated doing manual machining and CNC work. I finally got a chance to go work for the local Ford plant assembling electronic devices. It was here that I learned to hate unions and realized why cars cost so much money. I got fed up with the job after 2 years and went back to machining. I finally landed at a smaller Steam valve company and put 13 years in before quitting. I started as a CNC machinist and left as the plant manager. I got very bored towards the end so I started my own machine shop kind of like a hobby. Well the hobby is a little bigger now and I have 4 CNC machines and a nice collection of manual machines. I definitely made more money as plant manager but I have way more flexibility and higher potential with my own business.

Offline pink panther

• Resident
Re: my jobs
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007 - 04:55:48 PM »
managing peopls certainly has it's downers, especially in modern times as work ethic has changed greatly. Glad you are able to do something you and at your own descretion and schedule.
Scott   -  Member since 9/18/2005

Offline dougs bs23

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2007 - 05:34:21 PM »
I hope things work out for you in your own shop,, So tell us when are you going to start producing parts for us,,,like polished aluminum pulleys, brackets, maybe custom door cranks,tubular upper control arms,etc,etc.  Bet you could do well there, yurn a profit and undercut the competition :stirpot:
see Bill run  go Navy football///fly navy

Offline Stacked440

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2007 - 09:38:15 PM »
Just curious...what program do you use to draw parts in?
-Kyle-
1971 Challenger R/T clone 440/5-spd
1973 Duster - 5.7L Hemi swap project

Offline Pottstown Cuda

« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2007 - 02:45:41 PM »