Author Topic: Hemi noises!  (Read 1287 times)

Offline Mike71Cuda

Hemi noises!
« on: November 07, 2007 - 12:09:00 PM »
After burning in cam on my new Hemi (not crate) I redid all fluids and started this passed weekend. Had it up near 2000rpm (had oil pres) but a nasty valevetrain noise on drivers side towards front of engine. Not being  an engine guru wondered what the pros here think.
Flat tappet cam with hydraulic cam
Smitty

Offline Super Blue 72

• Permanent Resident
  • "Big 'n Little" Member since 8/9/05
    • Phil's Super Blue '72
Re: Hemi noises!
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007 - 12:15:45 PM »
I'm no pro but my first step would be to remove the valve cover on the effected side and look for physical signs of failure/loose rocker/etc....  :2cents:
1972 Dodge Challenger Rallye 340, AT, Code TB3=Super Blue, SBD=8/17/1971.  Yes, a Rallye without the fender louvers from the factory because of the body side molding option.

Pic #2 and 3 of my ARII 1/24 scale model car 

Phil in New England-Massachusetts  Always thank God for what you have!

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/456046/1972-dodge-challenger

Offline Mike71Cuda

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2007 - 12:28:47 PM »
Yes that was plan, just wondered other than seeing something damaged what would be an issue, a lifter collapsed etc

Offline moper

• Resident
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2007 - 12:43:52 PM »
Who built it? The rocker systems on Hemis can be a bear if they havent done many good ones...Was the block square decked?

Offline Mike71Cuda

« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2007 - 02:04:34 PM »
Lou Vignongna. Racer builder from Wappingers Falls NY
Yes block was decked

Offline Oldschool

• Administrator
  • Permanent Resident
  • Member Since 9-05-06
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2007 - 04:40:44 PM »