Author Topic: Rust Frame  (Read 1159 times)

Offline Hopalong

• HEAD OFF! Apply directly to the neck line!
Rust Frame
« on: February 23, 2008 - 05:46:46 PM »
The left rear frame is rusty where the leaf spring mounts on my Challenger.  My options are reproductions of full or half frame rails, or the Safe-T-Caps from Auto Rust Technicians.  Has anyone here had any experience with ART?  It seems that the price is about the same either way.  I am not worried about how it looks as far as originallity as I am not doing a concours resto.  I will probably also have to do the trunk pans as well, if that makes any difference.
{oo/===\oo}

Offline R/T hedkace

• Resident
Re: Rust Frame
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2008 - 07:11:27 PM »
I don't know how bad your rust issue is, but I had the same problem, (as most E bodies do).
 I just cut out the rust with a cutoff wheel, fabricated a new piece, (I am new to this, though I am quite proud of myself).
Tacked it in place, migged the rest, and primed it.
It definitely was easier that replacing the whole rear frame rail, but I was also lucky enough to have the rust confined to this particular spot, and not the whole rail.
 How bad is your rail?
 Hope this helps ya a little bit  :thumbsup:

Jeff     
    Defending the Earth from "uptight" mods!!   an endless crusade..........

1970 Dodge Challenger R/T 440 4speed Dana
1970 Dodge Super Bee
1969 Barracuda
 Massachusetts

Offline FY1Cuda

« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2008 - 09:03:46 PM »
That is some VERY nice work. Well done.  :worshippy

Offline R/T hedkace

• Resident
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2008 - 09:34:50 PM »
That is some VERY nice work. Well done.  :worshippy
Thank you very much  :cheers:
 I've had five Challengers, and this is the first one that I have "attempted" to fix/restore.
I only arc welded a little in the past, but never migged, and never fabricated a piece for a car before, but I do find it very satisfying.