Author Topic: paint removal question  (Read 1857 times)

Offline hamerg

• I'm a llama!
paint removal question
« on: May 21, 2008 - 12:13:28 PM »
I am just beginning the paint removal process on my 'cuda and was wondering the best approach. I am using a grinder with 40 grit sanding disks to remove the paint and yes I know that blasting will be quicker, but I have lots of time! My question is what should I do to the bare metal after stripping the paint. I'm concerned that the bare metal will be exposed for some time, depending on how long it takes to strip the car. I will remove as much as possible, such as fenders and doors. The car needs both quarters and the trunk floor replaced, so it will take some time before it is ready for paint. I am doing this in my garage so please keep this in mind.

I will post pictures as I make progress.
Thanks,
George

Offline cuda-cable

• MOPAR or no car
Re: paint removal question
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008 - 12:35:51 PM »
I did the same to mine, but used chemical stripper, about 2 gallons did the job. Once paint was off used 3M orbital pads to clean the surface metal, then applied a coat of self etching primer to stop surface rust......worked for me.

Offline matt63

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2008 - 03:16:05 PM »
Next time I would use the 3M pads too.  If you don't have a spray gun you could use a wipe on cleaner that leaves a zinc phosphate coating when it dries.  I think POR carries it  http://www.por15.com/ or try body shop supply places.
You can also buy self etching primer in spray bombs.  You might have to remove this stuff when you get to priming and painting it though.  Wear a proper mask!

Matt in Edmonton

'68 Valiant
'73 Cuda 340 4 speed (408) SOLD

Offline jeryst

• Resident
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2008 - 11:13:07 AM »
I think you are better off using a chemical stripper because it sure is a whole lot easier.