Author Topic: What primer to use after media blasting?  (Read 12405 times)

Offline ambitions2

• ..we gunna make it to the finish line...
    • 72 Challenger EV-2 Project
What primer to use after media blasting?
« on: August 13, 2008 - 11:34:50 PM »
Well the time has finally come to get the car media blasted (I have talked about it, but I graduated from college in May and now have a full time job).  To get the car done it will be between 600 - 700, but if I had them primer the car it would be around 1000 to 1100.  I found out later the are open on Saturdays so I can be there when they are doing it.

I want to shoot the primer, but I was wondering what primer should I use in order to prevent flash rusting.  My intention is to prime the car and I will be doing the body work throughout the winter.  What type of primer should I be using?  Cheaper or a certain type?  I have heard a few guys say not to use etching primer at this point which makes sense.  Thanks guys.
Project: 1972 Challenger - 340 AT 8 3/4 3.23 gears
http://community.webshots.com/user/jtitan2220

Offline 'Cuda Hunter

• Sr. Resident
  • Tastes Like Chicken
Re: What primer to use after media blasting?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008 - 12:53:54 AM »
I have the same question.  Well put. 

Where are you located at?  That is  a good price for media blast. 
"All riches begin as a state of mind and you have complete control of your mind"  -- B. Lee

Offline TripleBlack71Cuda

• Member since 3/21/2006
    • 1970 & 1971 Cuda Video
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2008 - 01:49:41 AM »
 :popcorn:

Offline Chryco Psycho

• Administrator
  • C-C.com Guru
  • 70 Challenger R/T SE 70 tube Chassis Cuda now sold
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2008 - 01:53:24 AM »
DP40 or DP 90 etching primer

Challenger - You`ll wish You Hadn`t

Offline ksierens

• 70 Challenger Resurrection
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2008 - 07:27:10 AM »
 :iagree: ... though I used DuPont VariPrime self etching