Author Topic: shifter linkage  (Read 1561 times)

Offline HAWS

shifter linkage
« on: September 04, 2009 - 11:56:45 AM »
I have a 70 Cuda with a slapstick shifter. It works well in drive, but when I try to put into first it won't go, it is in second. I know it needs to be adjusted but I have never done this before so any help would be appreciated. Thanks....

Offline BIGSHCLUNK

• Sr. Resident
  • Miss NIKKI - were you this hot at 48?
Re: shifter linkage
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2009 - 12:48:25 PM »
I'm sure Terry's got the answer for this... Neil too!  :grinyes:
70 Chally R/T Convertible- Yes she's really got a HEMI, no she's not a Charger!
                                             [o o o o]
                                                  OO
                                                  OO 
                                              [o o o o]
https://www.aanddtruckautoparts.com/
http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-D-Truck-and-Auto-Parts/67427352555?ref=hl

Offline Chryco Psycho

• Administrator
  • C-C.com Guru
  • 70 Challenger R/T SE 70 tube Chassis Cuda now sold
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2009 - 09:06:59 PM »
the adjuster is on the rod that connect to the tranny under the car , use a 1/2 inch wrench to shorten or lenghten it , I think it needs to be a bit shorter

Challenger - You`ll wish You Hadn`t

Offline 426HEMI

• Sr. Resident
  • My M46 Barracuda! Member Since:October 01, 2005
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2009 - 09:41:05 PM »
Or one of the bushings could be worn or missing.
Got a pretty good start on my M46 optioned Barracuda restoration but now it is on hold till I can gather more funds.  Still need a few parts for it.  SIU Graduate 75 AAS Automotive Tech, 94 BS Advanced Tech Studies, 1997 MSED Workforce Education and Development

1970 M46 Barracuda
1998 Dodge Darango

Gordon

Offline burdar

• Sr. Resident
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2009 - 12:30:04 AM »