Author Topic: Any mechanical engineers out there?  (Read 1197 times)

Offline jeryst

• Resident
Any mechanical engineers out there?
« on: September 12, 2009 - 05:45:32 AM »
I have been out of work for almost two years now. It seems that age discrimination in the IT field is running rampant, and if you are over 40, you are considered a dinosaur.

So I have gone back to college, and am working towards a degree in mechanical engineering. I was just wondering if anyone on the board is a mechanical engineer by profession.

Offline ksierens

• 70 Challenger Resurrection
Re: Any mechanical engineers out there?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2009 - 10:11:58 AM »
I am not, but I actually develop software for the ME field.  My company, Altair Engineering, does ME work through their Product Design division, and contracts engineers out.  Here is the web site:

www.altair.com

Good luck
1970 Triple Black Challenger R/T  440 Six Pack - 4 Speed - 3.55 Dana
Kurt - SE Michigan

Offline garrett007

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2009 - 09:37:09 PM »
Kinda, I work for Caterpillar.  I graduated in electrical eng. but now work mostly in mechanical side.  I have worked about 6 yrs as electrical and 6 as mechanical.  Currently I test new D10 and D11 dozers.
'68 Charger
'70 Challenger RT/SE (non-running)
'70 Challenger Deputy (non-running)
'1979 Macho W150
'96 Avenger - Gone
'05 Town & Country
'06 Charger R/T

Offline 72hemi

• Resident
  • MEMBER SINCE JANUARY 2006
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2009 - 09:55:02 PM »
I am a mechanical engineer. Been out of school for 2 years, and work in the aerospace defense industry. Not sure about the schools where you are but most mechanical engineering degree programs take 5 years to complete. Good news about the field is the experts are predicting a huge demand for mechanical engineers as the baby boomers become elligible to retire. I hear about every couple of months from the executive vice president.
1972 Dodge Challenger 340 6 Pack 4-speed