Author Topic: Filler over DP epoxy, Yes or no ?  (Read 7454 times)

Offline nick68

Filler over DP epoxy, Yes or no ?
« on: September 23, 2009 - 09:19:28 AM »
I would like you guys opinion. I was already told by the Paint supplier that I could use filler over DP epoxy. But I want a second opinion from the real world bodyworkers. Can you give examples of time frames and ti[ps ?

thnx guys and gals
"Did I mention I hate sanding ? "

Offline Topcat

• C-C.com Expert
  • Member since 9/16/04
Re: Filler over DP epoxy, Yes or no ?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2009 - 09:25:52 AM »
Good question. I'd like to hear more on this too.
Mike, Fremont, CA.

Offline bentpshrods

• Almost there, Boise Id.
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2009 - 10:11:49 AM »
   First off I am no expert by a long shot but I am in the process of striping my car down to bare metal and repainting it.  You can get a lot of good information and help from www.autobodystore.com   Being my first try at this I had a few areas where I had to go back and reapply my filler over the epoxy primer in spots that showed up low.  Just take some 80 grit paper and scuff the area to give the filler something to bite to---apply the filler--and reprime.  One thing I have found is to use a guide coat when reblocking to really help you get it straight.    Doug

Offline shawge

• Zoiks!!
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2009 - 01:39:58 PM »
From what I've read, it's ok to apply thin applications of filler over primer after it's out of it's recoat window.  I've always tried to get all of my filler on bare metal but there are always a few low spots hanging around.

Autobodystore.com is a great resource.  One member (Serge) did an experiment with filler and epoxy primer

http://autobodystore.com/filler_&_epoxy.shtml

- Jerry

Offline dutch

• Sr. Resident
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2009 - 02:47:00 PM »
epoxy is the only primer you can use filler on.  Sand with 180 grit and you`re ready to go  :2thumbs:
*** Bart ***

Offline matt63