Author Topic: Somebody Stop Me...considering a GULP........Import..  (Read 3483 times)

Offline Bullitt-

• Permanent Resident
  • Better Things To Come Member Since 2/16/06
Somebody Stop Me...considering a GULP........Import..
« on: April 05, 2010 - 03:16:33 PM »
I've always sworn off the Imports but several months ago when there was a possibility that VW would be locating a plant here I studied up on their offerings thinking this is one affordable import I could tolerate.  Well the plant went to TN so I forgot about them but several recent events keep turning my head toward their turbo diesel models, most recently my sons best friend has taken a sales position at the local dealership.  When I found out we did a search for the TDI models & I was surprised to see how affordable they are used.  Having suffered with a Lincoln Aggrivators 13/18 MPG for a few years & wanting to start traveling more now that the kids are off to college I'm thinking these 30-40 MPG machines would make sense.  Haven't driven or even sat in one yet but plan to go by the dealership today or tomorrow.    Someone please stop me.....Ieeeeee .....I can't sop myself.   :woohoo:

http://www.vwaudihuntsville.com/web/1887/vehicle/389302/2006-Audi-A4-2.0T-Huntsville-AL?condition_id=10426
Wade  73 Rallye 340..'77 Millennium Falcon...13 R/T Classic   Huntsville, AL
Screwed by Photobucket!

Offline dutch

• Sr. Resident
Re: Somebody Stop Me...considering a GULP........Import..
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010 - 03:37:18 PM »
my friend owned a A4 avant ( wagon) V6  2.7 tdi .  It drives great, and fast too.  He got rid of it for maintenance costs though.  I don`t know about shop wages in the us. but here VW charges about 90 euro`s an hour ( $ 120 )+ tax. 
*** Bart ***

Offline JH27N0B

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010 - 04:24:55 PM »
My mom has a Passat (gas engine) and the maintenance costs have eaten her alive over the years.