Author Topic: Never really thought it would happen to ME  (Read 1389 times)

Offline shadango

• Resident
Never really thought it would happen to ME
« on: August 27, 2013 - 03:12:39 AM »
Over 20 years ago I graduated college magna cum laude with a degree in communications media (tv production) and I started freelancing right away and did so for a good 7 years , most of my work being at one company. They at some point decided to cut all freelancers so I was worried but they offered me a job. Took a pay cut but figured it would pay off in the long run.  That was in 98. Spent the last 15 years building my reputation and working hard to do the best I could and do the best for the company. I ewas overlooked numerous times for promotions and such but no problem....figured my time would come if I just put the effort into it. Then our company was taken over by another company about 5 years back.  That company, based in NY, was full of people who wanted to do my job but couldn't....I did my best to help out and keep things contained, plugging away.  Came up with new ideas and they were shot down, then found a version of them being done by the NY folks with them getting the credit. Still kept busting ass to do my best. Then 6 months ago or less we are told a new boss is taking over...an imported person from a major company...supposed to "turn our company around" as far as PR and such.  I was thinking it would be a breath of fresh air...new blood, she would see what was going on and fix stuff and I could really shine.  She hired two new folks to run the new divisions she set up and again I thought "this could be a great opportunity!"   But I was never given that chance.   The new manager and the guy she hired showed up today unannounced and we all wondered what that meant.   Then I get called into a conference room and there she is with an HR rep.  My job has been eliminated. "We are going in another direction" is all she would say.   20 plus years down the tubes. The few shar